John Bercow

157th Speaker of the UK House of Commons




Specific topics

ElectionsGlobal issuesNegociaciónPoliticschange managementelectionsglobal issuespolitics

John Bercow is a British politician, and a member of the Conservative Party, who was the 157th Speaker of the UK House of Commons. His charismatic style and repeated calls to order have made him a political figure who enjoys great popularity worldwide. Re-elected three times (2010, 2015 and 2017), John Bercow retired from political office after ten years as Speaker of the House of Commons, where, in addition to accepting and directing the issues under debate, he has also stood out for his work in the implementation of various reforms, such as the extended time for PMQs or the increase of the use of Urgent Questions.

Currently, in his speeches he shares his vision of the future of politics and his experience implementing changes and reforms. His key role during the Brexit debates makes him a highly relevant figure in understanding this complex exit process.

The youngest incumbent to reach the position of Speaker of the House (46 years old), his trademark "Order" was heard 14,000 times during these ten years (BBC). During the negotiation of the UK's exit from the European Union, John Bercow played a key role in parliamentary debates, preventing Boris Johnson from resubmitting the renegotiated agreement with the EU to MEPs and Theresa May from representing her text to MEPs. He chose the 31st of October as the date of his retirement, which was expected to be a key date for the UK's exit from the European Union.

Prior to being Speaker of the House, during which four different Prime Ministers were in charge – he earned the respect and appreciation of government and opposition - he was a Member of Parliament for Buckingham, Shadow Chief Treasury and Secretary for Work and Pensions.

John Bercow graduated with honors in Political Studies from the University of Essex.

Related speakers

luis enrique garcia rodriguez speaker

Luis Enrique García Rodríguez

Former President of the CAF - Development Bank of Latin America (1991-2017)

sir howard davies hs

Howard Davies

Director of the London School of Economics (2003-2011), chairman of the Financial Services Authority (1997-2003)

alvaro uribe speaker

Álvaro Uribe Vélez

President of Colombia (2002-2010)


Nemesio Fernández-Cuesta

Secretariat for Energy (1996-98). Expert on climate change

Lorenzo Bini Smaghi

Member of the Executive Committee of the European Bank. Chairman at Societè Générale

Fernando Henrique Cardoso

President of Brazil (1995-2002). Sociologist and intellectual of great prestige and professor of the University of São Paulo


Eduardo Madina

Political and economic analyst. ETA terrorist attack survivor

pedro passos coelho conferenciante

Pedro Passos Coelho

Prime Minister of Portugal (2011-2015)


Your data will be processed by THINKING HEADS GROUP, S.L. to manage your contact with us. Our registered office is located in Madrid, C/ Velázquez, 24 - 7th floor, C.P.:28001 and our is NIF B-83220475

Adding your email address, means you have read and accepted the policy of How THINKING HEADS GROUP, S.L. treads your data and you consent the processing of your data.

Send this to a friend