Thomas J Sargent

Nobel Economist 2011



Thomas John ""Tom"" Sargent (born July 19, 1943) is an American economist, who is currently the W.R. Berkley Professor of Economics and Business at New York University. He specializes in the fields of macroeconomics, monetary economics and time series econometrics. As of 2014, he ranks fourteenth among the most cited economists in the world. He was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics in 2011 together with Christopher A. Sims ""for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy"".

Sargent is one of the leaders of the ""rational expectations revolution,"" which argues that the people being modeled by economists can predict the future, or the probability of future outcomes, at least as well as the economist can with his model. Rational expectations was introduced into economics by John Muth, then Robert Lucas, Jr., and Edward C. Prescott took it much farther. By some works written in close collaboration with Lucas and Neil Wallace, Thomas J. Sargent could fundamentally contribute to the evolution of new classical macroeconomics.

Sargent has pursued a research program with Ljungqvist designed to understand determinants of differences in unemployment outcomes in Europe and the United States during the last 30 years. The two key questions the program addresses are why, in the 1950s and 1960s, unemployment was systematically lower in Europe than in the United States and why, for two and a half decades after 1980, unemployment has been systematically higher in Europe than in the United States.

In 2011, he was awarded the NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing from the National Academy of Sciences and, in September, he became the recipient of the 2011 CME Group-MSRI Prize in Innovative Quantitative Applications. Sargent is known as a devoted teacher. Among his PhD advisees are men and women at the forefront of macroeconomic research Sargent's reading group at Stanford and NYU is a famous institution among graduate students in economics

Related speakers

Daniel Kahneman

Daniel Kahneman

2002 Nobel Economist

rigoberta menchu speaker

Rigoberta Menchú

Human Rights Activist / Nobel Laureate


Joseph Stiglitz

Nobel Prize Economist 2001. Professor of Economics at Columbia University

Edmund Phelps

Nobel Prize in Economics en 2006


Your data will be processed by THINKING HEADS GROUP, S.L. to manage your contact with us. Our registered office is located in Madrid, C/ Velázquez, 24 - 7th floor, C.P.:28001 and our is NIF B-83220475

Adding your email address, means you have read and accepted the policy of How THINKING HEADS GROUP, S.L. treads your data and you consent the processing of your data.

Send this to a friend